Swim Season

I’m dubbing this winter the swim season. With our lack of snow and frigid temps, I’ve been forced back into the pool. Maybe forced isn’t the right word, but it’s been a while since swimming has been a regular part of my routine. My last year of competitive swimming was in college back in 2002. Yikes! It’s been 13 years? I’ve swam periodically on and off, but nothing consistent since then. This has changed recently and I’m warming up to the idea of bigger things (that of which I cannot name at the moment). They need some time to simmer in the pot for a bit yet.

I’ve been ramping up my swimming, but at first it was a bit of a struggle. I’d get bored quickly and end up just swimming around underwater and jumping around like a fish. Playing is a huge part of swimming however, and I still find time to do this at the end of my workouts. I can’t get into a pool or body of water without goofing around; that would just be wrong. Being in the water just brings out the little kid (or mermaid) in me I guess.

I’m finding that I’m really enjoying being back in the pool. I think I just had to get over that “hump” of getting back into swim shape. My body is remembering what it feels like to be strong in the pool and that is such a good feeling. My stroke feels long, relaxed and strong, similar to the way it used to feel in college. It’s oddly exhilarating. I never thought this would happen to me. I had swam for so many years that I just stopped after college.

My workouts started small with only maybe 1,000 yards. They’ve since more than doubled and I’m continuing to build. I’ve even gone so far as to write up workouts for myself. It’s so weird! This is nowhere near what I used to swim, but it’s a step in the right direction. At the height of my swimming career, I was swimming 12,000-14,000 yards a day (that’s with two a day workouts) + dry land and weight training. I figure if I can get back into the 5,000-6,000 range I’ll be good to go (right now I’m just shy of 3,000 yards per workout). 

Now it’s just figuring out what I want to do with all this swimming business…there’s a lot of possibilities out there!

Ugh. This is totally me.

Ugh. This is totally me.

2 thoughts on “Swim Season

Leave a Reply

