Wild Style

It’s into the woods I go tomorrow morning for a nice, long run. Thinking somewhere around 16 or so. It’s been a while since I’ve done anything over 11 miles, so this will feel like an old friend. I’m really pumped to get out there. Despite some plantar fasciitis lingering in my right foot, everything has been feeling exceptional lately. Last weekend I got out for 11 with Joslynn on the SHT and it was hot as shit out. It will take some acclimating for the heat on my end. I generally don’t deal well with it. All that said, tomorrow is looking decent weather wise and I can’t wait to eat up the trail.

Last night after work, I decided to run home from work. It was the best decision I have made all week! It’s not a long run home, 5.5 miles on the SHT—the last 3 being uphill. I took off down the lakewalk and that was a surprisingly enjoyable section, as I don’t normally like the lakewalk. There’s often too much pavement, people and such. But, yesterday there was a cool breeze and it was vaguely empty of folks. When I hit the SHT, it was all uphill from there and I loved every minute of it! It’s a really fun section to run/fast hike in parts, especially west of Enger Tower. You cross through an abandoned park fully equipped with a rusted basketball hoop and overgrown ball field. It’s both strange and delightful at the same time. I’m going to try and make this a once a week run hopefully. Plus, I get to bike back down to work in the morning. It’s the best of both worlds!

Next week, it’s off to Madison on Thursday for a weekend of running to Chicago with my family Ragnar team. Looking forward to some new terrain/scenery and running along Lake Michigan to the finish!

You’ve got that wild style
You’ve got that wild style
You’ve got that wild style for miles and miles

Happy Trails!

Leave a Reply

