Biking Free

One of the best ways to feel an incredible sense of freedom is by bike. God help me I love it so. Doesn’t matter where I’m going, just as long as I feel the wind in my face and my legs spinning ’round. Yesterday, I did my first bike commute to and from work. A couple of weeks prior I swapped out my big, nubby tires on the mountain bike for some skinny slicks to help the ride go a little quicker. I had mapped out my route as well and was totally excited for the trip downhill to the office. I figured a half an hour would suffice for the ride there and left my house around 7:30am. It was a bit chilly in the a.m. (maybe mid-30s) and was glad that I had a pair of thin, stretchy gloves on, two layers up top and tights on the bottom. It was a brisk ride to say the least on the way down. My eyes watered on a couple of the steeper sections and I know I had the biggest grin on my face the whole way. I rolled into work at 8 on the dot feeling refreshed and ready to roll.

The ride home was a bit of a different story, but still super enjoyable. It was a thigh and ass burner to say the least. I made it up to Skyline before having to hop off and walk my bike two blocks to the base of Hutchinson where I then hopped back on and rode home the rest of the way. When I rolled up to the house and got off the bike, I felt like I had baby deer legs. They were a little shaky, but it was a good shaky and I felt strong. 45 minutes was my return time and I was happy about that. There’s nothing like biking uphill for a few miles to make you feel really good about yourself. I’m guessing it gets easier every time I do this, so I’m hoping to get in at least two rides per week to work on the bike.

Here’s a few biking things I’ve seen lately that I absolutely love. Get out and ride this weekend!

How cool is this?!

The ultimate banana holder. Available for purchase on Etsy.

 

clean-house-lg

 

the gentler side of taxidermy

The gentler and more animal-friendly side of taxidermy.

 

Bike signal shirt.

The bike signal shirt. A must have.

Leave a Reply

