A Wonderful Serenity

I got out for the second ski of the season last night and it was so, so beautiful. This ski was better than my first outing. I used my new skis (new last year) and I’m so glad I opted for those over my waxless skis. I was joined by Cremers, who also donned his new skis and we glided around Lester chatting about “this new store and that new thing and how’s so and so and I can’t wait to go downhill skiing, etc.” Our legs were a bit wobbly and it’ll take a few more times to get our ski legs back in proper order, but we had a great time. When I got home, I peeled off my outer layers and danced around like a huge dork in my long undies while cooking a breakfast dinner in my apartment…that’s how pumped I was that I had just been skiing. I even contemplated going back out after eating my scrambled eggs. But I didn’t and I kinda regret it.

Anyway, the whole point of this post is because of this quote I read yesterday afternoon. I was reminded of it again while out skiing on the trail. This is what cross-country skiing feels like to me and my soul. (Replace spring with winter and I wasn’t alone, but you know what I mean!)

“A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart. I am alone, and feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine.” —an excerpt from The Sorrows of Young Werther by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (what a name, eh?!)

Check out Cremers' frosty beard action!

Check out Cremers’ frosty beard!

One thought on “A Wonderful Serenity

Leave a Reply

