The Lester Mystery

After a year of speculation, I finally figured out what the mysterious, screeching animal is in the Lester woods! About a year ago, I was running the ski loops in Lester after dark with my friend Meg. We heard this awful, prehistoric-like screech and it scared the crap out of us. We screamed, then laughed and started sprinting through the woods. I heard it again on a few occasions after that night last year, but I never saw it. I always left those woods feeling slightly on edge and definitely creeped out.

A couple of weeks ago, I was running the loops with Cremers and I heard it again! We stopped and shined our headlamps into the woods to get a better look. There had been rumors and sightings of mountain lions in the area for a number of years and I hoped that we weren’t about to come face to face with something of that nature. The screeching wouldn’t stop and it sent shivers down my spine. Cremers spotted glowing eyes through the trees; feeling unsettled, we decided to high-tail it outta there. My brain reeled with thoughts of what kind of animal makes that sound.

Flash forward to today—a co-worker sent me a link to animal sounds, after we had talked about the Lester mystery animal over lunch. I clicked through a few that were at the top of the suspect list. After a few failed attempts and out of sheer curiosity, I clicked on the porcupine. Low and behold, the awful screeching sound filled my speakers! Ah ha! Check it out here to listen to it yourself.

Who knew porcupines were such masters of horror?!

One thought on “The Lester Mystery

  1. I seriously spent about an hour once trying to find what I thought was a baby screaming in the woods. I was in such a tizzy. This also turned out to be a porcupine.

Leave a Reply

