A Change of Pace

I’m switching my plans up a bit this summer. Since running the Superior 50k at Lutsen this past May, I’ve been feeling in a funk. I’ve been struggling with pain in my left hip/glute on every run. I’ve also been experiencing this feeling of a complete crash and burn 1.5 to 2 hours into my long runs. It forces me into a walk. On my last long run of 23 miles, I bonked hard around mile seven and didn’t recover until mile 13. The last ten miles were better, but it wasn’t ideal by any means. I’m sure there are a variety of factors for ending up in the hurt basket so early. I partially blame the heat and humidity. But there’s something else lurking in the dark corner of the basket. With that in mind, I’ve decided to not run my bucket list race for the year—the Marquette 50 miler. My other reason for not running this race is that I was presented the opportunity to do a family Ragnar Relay. There will always be a 50 miler in my future, but getting all of the runners in my family together for Ragnar is a different story. I had so much fun at Ragnar last year and I didn’t even know anyone on my team. I can only imagine how fun it will be to be racing with my Dad and my cousins.

It saddens me slightly to veer from my race plans for the summer as I hold true to my plans most often as possible. Life has a funny way of making you chill out and enjoy the best things. Like spending time with family and friends, relaxing and enjoying an overly warm summer filled with ice cream, bike rides, swimming and all that good stuff. Hopefully some of this down time will help to reset myself in preparation for the fall racing season. I’m still cranking out a mild amount of miles per week, just keeping the base alive for the moment and trying not to further damage my hip/glute. Wild Duluth is definitely still on my hit list.

2 thoughts on “A Change of Pace

  1. There are emotional challenges to intense training that can hit out of nowhere … I know I’ve experienced them lately. It sounds like in this case, it’s given you a new look at your priorities. 🙂

  2. Yes, it definitely has and that’s a good thing I think. Balance is key and hard to maintain sometimes. Hope your training is going well and continues to keep you feeling well and healthy, as it always should!

Leave a Reply

