Worst Run Ever

Well…maybe…now that I look back on yesterday’s run things could have been worse. But the run wasn’t ideal by any means. I was sorely under-dressed while the rain and sleet fell on me and soaked me to the bone. After three hours of running, I still wasn’t getting warm. It’s unusual, because historically I’m a very warm-blooded gal. It takes a lot to make me cold and stay cold. My left hamstring was also hurting quite a bit on every up. Overall, it was just one of those days where my motivation and heart were considerably lacking. And, although originally I wanted time alone in the woods, I found myself feeling strangely lonely, which doesn’t happen often either. I cut the run short after three sluggish hours, drove home and stood in the shower. 16 or so miles.

Despite the crappy weather over the past two days, the weekend was jam-packed with art goodness. Saturday morning found me in line for Record Store Day, where I managed to pick up a few albums that I was eying up.

American Buffalo is a compilation album of Minnesota artists including Duluth’s own Trampled By Turtles and Charlie Parr. Other artists featured are Dead Man Winter, 4onthefloor, The Blind Shake, Albert, Doomtree, Polica, Pert Near Sandstone and a few others. It’s really a great mix. The other two albums I got are The Tallest Man On Earth and Of Monsters and Men, both are incredibly good. Take a listen…

I also got to check out an Open House at Kenspeckle Letterpress where demos of the ever cool and aged printing process of letterpress were given, along with delicious pastries and mimosas! Afterwards, I made a stop at The Depot for the Duluth Art Institute’s latest exhibit that’s all about illustration. It’s super cool. Go now!

Leave a Reply

