Get into it!

I took the day off of work yesterday to put in a dose of hearty miles with my great friend and running partner in crime, Marcus. He’s training for another 50-miler and I’m training for another 50k, both races taking place in mid-May. I always get so excited for the first major long run of a training season. There’s something funny knowing that you’re about to run a ridiculous amount of miles through the woods, but at the same time you’re completely at peace with it. I actually crave it now and can’t think of anything I’d rather be doing at that moment. When it comes down to it, it’s just another day in the woods doing what you love and the miles just seem to disappear beneath your feet. Before you know it, you’ve already ran 20 miles and seven more doesn’t seem all that bad.

During the run, I was reminded of a quote I had recently read that goes like this: If you can’t get out of it, you might as well get into it. This quote holds true for a long trail run, especially one on the Superior Hiking Trail with not many access points. You have to get into it, otherwise you’re going to have a really hard time. There’s no other way out. I believe you have to love it. Whatever your reason for loving it is, you have to love it. And that’s all I have to say about that.

This quote holds true for exploring the Grand Canyon as well.

In other news, I feel like I’ve officially stepped into the realm of a bonafide trail runner. I lost my first toenail recently and couldn’t be happier, in a weird way. It’s like a rite of passage. I feel like I’ve finally earned my stripes.

One of these things is not like the others.

Leave a Reply

