Looking Ahead

The past two weeks have been light on the trail running and I’ll admit, it’s been nice to have a little break. However, I’ve found that without a daily trail run, I’ve become increasingly lethargic and I hate it. Couch potato mode has started to set in and it’s time to fight it off. This all came to fruition when I watched Undercover Brother in it’s entirety the other night, while drinking a beer and eating a bag of chocolate chips straight up. Heaven help me! If left to my own devices, I will eventually destroy myself. The “evil temptress” in myself has roared her head and it’s time to lop it off with the silvery axe of trail running.

With spring just around the corner and the need to change my current path of self-destruction, I longingly look ahead to the upcoming trail race season. There will be new miles and milestones met, and I’ve never been more excited to hit the trails to challenge myself. I want the trails to chew me up, spit me out and make me feel like I’ve never felt before. That sounds a bit intense and maybe even a little self-punishing, but I thrive on experiences that make me feel anything that normal day to day life doesn’t provide. I’m also elated for the running future of Marcus, who just today signed up for the Sawtooth 100! What an inspiration. This guy is an animal and if you ever tell him that, he’ll reply, “What kind?”, with a mischievous twinkle in his eye.

So with that in mind, here’s what’s on my list for the season:
1. Spring Superior 50k Trail Race
2. Half Voyageur 26.2 Trail Race
3. Marquette 50 Mile Trail Race
4. Wild Duluth 50k or 100k Trail Race (I haven’t decided as of yet. We’ll see how things pan out.)
5. I’d like to volunteer at various races as well throughout the season.

For my first 50-mile race I contemplated doing the full Voyageur. It’s an iconic, local race and I love the course, but then I heard about the Marquette 50 Mile and that was that. I’m sure I’ll do Voyageur at some point in my life, but not this year. The Marquette 50 takes place two days before my birthday and I can’t think of a better way to bring in a new year. Here are some other reasons why I want to run this particular one.

1. It’s a destination race = new and exciting terrain. (I actually wanted to run here for fun/vacation last summer and didn’t.)
2. Camping before and after the race. What fun!
3. It’s in the UP! I heart Yoopers.
4. It boasts some incredible views of Lake Superior.
5. It looks gnarly as all get out.
6. Did I mention it’s right before my birthday?!

Enough with the lists already. Here are a couple of pics of the Marquette 50 course. Hello!

image courtesy Marquette 50

image courtesy Marquette 50

image courtesy Marquette 50

Leave a Reply

