Winter’s Here!

Finally!!! An acceptable amount of snow arrived in Duluth this weekend and I couldn’t be happier. I’m even more excited and happier to know that a predicted 8+ inches of the white stuff is coming tomorrow and Wednesday. The weekend started with a beautiful 2+ hour trail run with cousin Dave and our new running buddy, Ryan. The trails were in awesome condition, the sky was blue, the air was crisp, the sun was out. It was the quintessential Duluth day. The kind of day that makes you fall in love with this city all over again. I spent the rest of the afternoon running errands and most importantly, waxing and prepping my new xc-skis. I was so excited that I sliced my finger while trying to get at the kick wax. I can hardly wait.

Sunday, as the snow was coming down sideways outside, I was inside laying all sloth-like on the couch, just melting into the cushions and on the verge of sleep when Marcus called. He was looking for someone willing (crazy?) enough to go trail running at night in the snow with him. He succeeded in persuading me to go with and I’m so glad that I did! I can not say “no” to any kind of activity that has even the slightest promise of adventure. This might be a bad thing that Marcus has figured this out about me. He seems to have a similar mentality, so we work well together when it comes to these things…even though it takes a little extra motivation at times. So, of course, I said yes and it’s no surprise to me that I loved every second of our run. We switched on the headlamps and silently made our way through the guardrail loop in Hartley. The light from our lamps lit up the snowflakes like flecks of floating silver and fresh snow glittered in every direction. It was pure magic.

I fell in love with Duluth again last night. That’s twice in one weekend. I don’t know how much more I can handle. We’ll see what happens to my heart when the skis touch the trail this week. It just may implode. Swoon! Enjoy the snow, people!

Leave a Reply

