Defeated

Well, yesterday’s last long run didn’t go as planned. I awoke to a cold, steady rain instead of the snow I was hoping for. I was really looking forward to running in the snow and spending my day off of work in the woods. Not to be deterred by the weather, I did my usual pre long run routine and wondered what clothing would suffice for today’s adventure. It was warm (38 degrees) and raining, but the weather guy on TV said that the temps would be dropping to below freezing in an hour or so. This would be a tricky one.

I always like to do my long runs on the SHT, so I normally head west. It’s easier mentally for me to complete an out and back, instead of numerous loops and trying to keep track of distance while running. I sat in the car at the base of Ely’s Peak for a few minutes (20 to be exact! I’m a really good procrastinator when I want to be). Finally, after debating with myself for some time, I pushed myself out of the warm car and into the rain. I started my watch and took off. Within seconds, I was all over the place. Everything had melted, refroze and with the rain, the SHT was now glare ice. I crossed Becks Road and headed down the flight of 100 or so stairs. My legs went out from beneath me and I flew down a few stairs and hugged a tree for dear life. When I finally made it to the bottom, I had a talk with myself and decided that it would be in my best interest to run elsewhere. I crawled back up the stairs, got back in the car and drove to Lester. I had run the ski trails the night before and they were in okay shape. I managed only one hour of running at Lester. By that time I was soaked to the bone, cold and my heart just wasn’t in it anymore. Feeling quite defeated, I went home and stood in the shower for way longer than one should. Afterwards, I walked a few blocks to have lunch at China Cafe, went shopping, and then sat around for the remainder of the day and ate some leftover Christmas cookies. I’m pretty sure this all falls into a proper 50k training plan, don’t you think?! Ah geez.

Leave a Reply

