The New Year

Sorry for the lack of posting over the last week and a half. I was on vacation since right before the holidays and I don’t have access to a computer or internet when I’m away from the office. It was a nice break, 11 days to be specific, and although I was sick as a dog most of last week, today I feel brand new. I like being disconnected from the world wide web from time to time. It can all be very overwhelming and facebook is addicting, so to remove myself from that felt refreshing. I spent the last four days up the shore near Lutsen, getting over being sick, cross-country skiing and just straight up relaxing. There’s something so soothing about being so close to the big lake that instantly calms your world. Nothing else really matters in those moments. I awoke every morning to the waves crashing and would stare out the window at the endless expanse of blue before me. It was pure.

We managed to find some decent snow up the shore, too. The further inland we traveled, the deeper the snow got. Although I didn’t get to use the new skis yet, the new poles performed beautifully. The skiing at Deer Yard Lake was top-notch and I’ll definitely make my way there again. There was a lot of climbing, but what goes up must come down and the rides downhill were fast, fun and eye-watering. My favorite! We got in a few shorter hikes on the Superior Hiking Trail as well and we were rewarded with some spectacular views of the area. I’d have to rate the Oberg Mtn. spur trail a favorite. I’d never been up there before and it was completely jaw dropping! I can’t wait to run it in a few months.

I’m not one for new year resolutions, but all this time off got me to thinking about this upcoming year, what lies in store and what I hope to accomplish. Some items are simple in nature, but require a lot of determination and commitment, like running my first 50-mile trail race. Other things that I have in mind for myself may take more of me in more ways than one, but that’s a good thing.

The running took a bit of a back seat this past week, but this week things are looking mighty fine. The legs feel fresh and ready to go. Oh, did I mention that I’m running a 50k trail race in Arizona in three weeks? I’ve ramped the miles up a little, but I gotta lock it down these last two weeks here with a couple more long runs.

Here’s a few snaps from the weekend. Hope you all enjoyed the holidays!

Panorama from Oberg Mtn.

The view from the cabin, note the giant snowflakes falling.

More views from Oberg Mtn.

First quarter moon.

winter sunset

Leave a Reply

