Simple Living

After taking most of this past week off from trail running (due to some nasty pangs in the legs), I eased back into things this weekend with a shorter run in Hartley on Saturday, followed by a 2 hour run on the SHT yesterday with Amy. I had tried to run easy earlier last week, on a treadmill (ick!), and after only 3.5 miles I was aching in body and spirit. Andrea was with me and we collectively decided to call it a day and get a beer at Sir Ben’s. That was the best decision I had made that day.

Saturday’s run in Hartley was icy as all get out, with the exception of the guardrails loop. The Inov-8 x-talon’s proved themselves worthy of icy conditions and I was happy to have them on my feet. I finished the run with little to no pain in my legs and I was really happy about that. Sunday turned out to be an awesome day overall. Amy and I hit the SHT at Ely’s Peak and ran west into Jay Cooke SP. I like this section of trail. It has some decent repetitive climbs and I always feel like I find a good rhythm on this stretch. Amy had never been out here before either and it was fun to see her enjoying the run as much as I was. We finished the run solidly, but hungry, so we made our way straight to Duluth Grill for some eats. We were so chilled after eating that we decided to sauna it up. There’s nothing better than spending hours outside followed by a sauna. I’ve loved this way of life for as long as I can remember. As kids, my cousins and I would spend entire days playing in the woods and racing back and forth from the sauna to the lake. I grew up living like this, no wonder it feels so right. It’s the simple things in life that get me.

With the frustrations of last week behind me, I move into a new week feeling refreshed and my usual self. It’s funny how a trail run can transform you, on many levels. Today, I wear an ugly Christmas sweater that I bought last week. I’m wearing it every day this week, as I vowed to my co-workers that I would. It smells funny and I think I’m allergic to it. It also has one jingle bell on it, just one, placed precisely in the armpit. Cheers to a good week!

One thought on “Simple Living

Leave a Reply

