Night Runnin’

I’ve recently started night trail running and I gotta say, it’s amazingly awesome and surreal. There’s nothing quite like it. My first official night run was a few weeks ago with Marcus. At around 14 miles, it maybe was a touch long for the first time (I got a bit of the tunnel vision), but I’m a fan of just diving right into things and seeing how the chips land. Most times, everything turns out just dandy. And, if they don’t, I’m sure I learned a thing or two along the way. On the 14 miler, we veered off course by a few miles, bushwhacked it through the woods and got chased by dogs. The view from the top of Ely’s Peak made all of that worth it though. Since that run, I’ve done a few more and they’ve all been super cool. It reminds me of the last part of a poem by Robert Frost:

The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

I can’t wait for winter night running. I can imagine it already. Glittery snow, a bright moon, crisp air filling my lungs and the silence of winter that I love so much.

Leave a Reply

