Happy and High

My runner’s high after this year’s Wild Duluth 50k trail race is still running hot through my veins. My quads are bunched, tight and warm to the touch; like there’s a burning ember glowing inside each thigh. There’s no pain while sitting absolutely still, but the second I shift positions they burst with a protesting yelp. It feels good, in a weird sort of way. It reminds me of what was just accomplished. I’m constantly amazed at what the body can tolerate and how quickly it can recover from the stress (and exhilaration!) of running 31 miles over unruly and beautiful terrain.

Stay tuned, more to come …

Leave a Reply

