Lightning in my belly.

Photo by Dennis O'Hara

The hourly countdown to Wild Duluth has officially started. I’m nervous, excited, jittery, jumpy and so pumped for tomorrow’s race. My body can’t decide how it wants to feel, I’m all over the place. I have have so much energy built up; I even cleaned my entire apartment the other night! My mom will be proud. Here’s an excerpt from a favorite poem, Lightning, by Mary Oliver that sums up what’s going on inside.

As always the body
wants to hide,
wants to flow toward it – strives
to balance while
fear shouts,
excitement shouts, back
and forth – each
bolt a burning river
tearing like escape through the dark
field of the other.

I’m loaded to the gills with pasta. I’ve got one more carbo load this evening at my friend Marcus’ place (he’s running the 100k and is going to kick ass!) with some other fellow trail runners. Thankfully pasta is a meal of many hats and it’s been different all week—thai peanut, pesto and the classic spaghetti and meatballs have all been on the menu this week. I can barely contain myself. How am I going to get any work done today? I’m sure I’ll be pacing my office like a caged lion and staring longingly westward out the window. I’ve got a good view of Enger Tower from here, right where I’ll be dropping into the city off of the SHT tomorrow afternoon…

5 thoughts on “Lightning in my belly.

Leave a Reply

