The Importance of Big Dreams

And yet another wonderfully, inspiring excerpt of writing by Brendan over at Semi-Rad!!! If you need a kick in the pants to get out and do that thing you’ve always dreamed of doing, now is the time to read this. And then go out and do it! I can’t agree more with this juicy nugget of writing and thinking from Brendan. Enjoy the weekend!

I have a copy of this children’s book that I take everywhere I go. It’s called An Awesome Book, and everyone I know who’s had a baby in the past six months owns a copy, because I bought one for them. It’s a kids’ book, but I think the message is for adults too.

I like it because it reminds me that I don’t need things, but I need dreams, goals, things I decided I wanted to do one day when I was looking out a window somewhere scratching my chin and thinking about what my life should look like.

Procrastinating, putting it off is fine as long as you’re 100 percent sure that you’re not going to die in the next year. Because you’re going to die someday, and if you’re honest with yourself, you will admit that you never once as a kid said to anyone, When I grow up I want matching drapes, or a riding lawnmower that mulches too or a cozy living room. You wanted to be a cowboy or a polar explorer or Amelia Earhart.

Go HERE to read the whole chimichanga, you’ll be glad you did!

Tags:

One Response to “The Importance of Big Dreams”

  1. Marcus Says:

    When I grow up I want a cozy living room so I have a place to hang after the adventures. Although last time my living room was cozy, it was in a van…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

